NCW Femmes Fatales were big winners at the annual Quebec Wrestling Awards for 2011, which were announced yesterday on The French language website celebrates the history of Montreal wrestling as well as recognise the best in current day Quebec grappling – and these awards are now in their eleventh year. Femmes Fatales, which returns to action on March 10th, picked up a number of plaudits. LuFisto‘s feud with current NCW International Champion Kalamity won Feud of the Year in the province, while Femmes Fatales VII: World Summit (from October) won show of the year. Femmes Fatales VII was the show which saw Kalamity beat LuFisto for the title, and feature more international visitors than ever before, such as the debuting Yumi Ohka (who had a highly regarded match with Cheerleader Melissa), Tomoka Nakagawa, Kellie Skater and the return to the ring of Tiana Ringer. For having both feud and show of the year, as well as enhancing the international reputation of his promotion, Femmes Fatales booker Stéphane Bruyère was awarded the Best Booker award.

In other categories, Femmes Fatales placed strongly. The match between LuFisto & Ayako Hamada (which headlined FFV in March) was the runner up for Match of the Year (coming second to Kevin Steen vs Paul London from NSPW only on the basis of “first place votes” cast – and only then by a margin of one vote). LuFisto also placed second runner-up for Best Babyface, while “The Pink Flash” Kira was first runner-up in Rookie of the Year. In related news, Kira’s next challenge was announced today, as she will go one-on-one in an international challenge with “Rate Tank” Kellie Skater at Femmes Fatales VIII next month. also released their new Top 50 Quebec Indy Wrestlers list, giving LuFisto and Kalamity spots amongst the guys (at #8 & #16 respectively). It’s LuFisto’s fourth straight year in the top 10, but Kalamity’s rise from #42 last year to #16 this year underscores her fantastic year. Those two naturally take the top spot in’s new Top 10 Women list. The rest of the ten are #3 Cheerleader Melissa, #4 Mercedes Martinez, #5 Sweet Cherrie, #6 Portia Perez, #7 Courtney Rush, #8 La Parfaite Caroline, #9 Angie Skye & #10 Anna Minoushka. You’ll note the non Quebec residents in that list, but suggests that if you remove the outsiders, their spots would be taken (in order) by Kira, Missy, Dézirée & Mary Lee Rose.

Next door to Quebec, Ontario’s finest were being recognised by Ontario Wrestling’s Indy Elite, with their second year of awards. Curiously, OWIE splits their awards and recognises a winner in each category from Eastern *and* Western Ontario. The big winners for Female Wrestler of the Year were Courtney Rush (Western) & Addy Starr (Eastern). Internationally travelled Portia Perez only polled as second runner-up in Eastern Ontario behind Starr & Jodi D’Milo (last year’s winner). Courtney actually polled the highest vote count for any woman in the two-year history of these awards, such was her overwhelming support. Courtney Rush’s first runner-up – Seleziya Sparx – didn’t need to feel bad though, as she swept the majority of the rest of the awards she was eligible for, picking up gongs for Female Rookie of the Year in *both* the Eastern AND Western divisions, Eastern Ontario’s Manager of the Year (and second runner-up in the Western polling for the same award) as well as Western Ontario’s Most Hated Female (and finishing second only to Portia Perez in the Eastern voting). Sparx also did the double in Sexiest Woman of the Year awards, scooping both divisions. In the flat-out popularity stakes, Cherry Bomb won Most Popular Female for Western Ontario, while Addy Starr made it a double victory for herself in Eastern Ontario.

We at Ringbelles would like to offer our hearty congratulations to all the winners in both provinces.

-Stew Allen